Slow simmered pasta sauce 

It’s prep Sunday again!! So you know what that means, recipe time!!!! I love pasta, but what I love even more is a slow simmered sauce full of rich developed flavors. I have a sauce here that is built off of Marcella Hazan’s original recipe which calls for butter instead of the traditional olive oil, and trust me when I say don’t wuss out and use olive oil (it’s okay to have a little butter when you are eating clean and healthy).

But. I decided to add some different elements to my sauce instead of the simple butter, onion, salt, tomato recipe. 

Here’s mine, and trust me it’s soooo worth the wait!

Slow simmered tomato sauce 

4 big cans peeled plum tomatos 

1 whole head roasted garlic (directions below) 

1C white wine 

5tbsp butter

1 onion sliced in half, peel/paper removed

2tsp white sugar  

2tbsp. Fresh basil 

Salt and pepper to taste 

(1lb ground chuck browned if you want to make meat sauce, which is what I did) 

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees 

2. Take your bulb of garlic and slice right across the top with the paper still on. Drizzle bulb with olive oil, wrap in foil and roast for 2 hours. Remove, allow to cool, squeeze the guts out of it and set aside. 

3. Melt butter in large pot over medium low heat, add roasted garlic and allow to become fragment for about 2 minutes.

4. Add the white wine and the onion and reduce for about 7 minutes. 

5. Add tomatos with their juices and simmer on low for 4 hours. 

6. Season to taste and add fresh basil right before tossing your favorite pasta in this magical sauce. 

*freezes well 

*keeps in the fridge for 1 week

Perfect for my prep meal strategy this week!

Enjoy! 

The meal prep princess